Governing Body


​Cardiff Metropolitan University’s constitution has been​ drawn up under the Education Reform Act 1988 (as amended) which provides for the appointment of a Board of Governors with responsibility for the educational character and mission of the Institute and oversight of its activities. ​​​​​​​​​​​​

The Board of Governors has a​ duty to govern Cardiff Met​​​ropolitan University so as to achieve and develop its primary objectives of teaching, learning and research, and related activities. It is the Board’s function to consider and approve Cardiff Metropolitan University’s strategic plan, which sets Cardiff Metropolitan University’s  academic aims and objectives, and to oversee the financial, physical and staffing strategies necessary to achieve it.

Cardiff Metropolitan University’s Nominations Committee is always interested to hear from members of the public who have an interest in university governance.  Details of the work of the Board of Governors and opportunities for membership may be obtained from the Secretary & ​Clerk to the Governors (contact details below).


​Independent Governors 

Ilora Finlay, Baroness Finlay of Llandaff (Chair), Welsh doctor, Professor of palliative medicine, and an Independent Crossbench member of the House of Lords

Ms N Amery (Vice-Chair), Former Operations Director, Spire Healthcare

Ms S Hay, Head of Partnerships and Learning, BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Mr F J Holmes, Chartered Accountant, Partner at Gambit Corporate Finance LLP

Mr U Hussain MBE (Chair of Audit Committee), Chief Finance Officer, South Wales Police

​Mrs Sian Goodson, Managing Director, Goodson Thomas Ltd

Dr Chris Turner, Former Academic Registrar and Director of Governance and Compliance, Cardiff University

Professor Kelechi Nnoaham, Executive Director of Public Health, Cwm Taf University Health Board

sident and​​ Vice-Chancellor​

Professor C Aitchison

Academic Board Governor 


Student Governors 

Mr I Gardiner ​(Students' Union President)

Mr J Nottingham (Students' Union Vice President)

Co-opted Governors 

Ms J Berry, Academic Registry (support representative staff)

Dr. S Jackson, Former Director of Quality Assurance QAA

Mr G J Hardacre, Head of Workforce & OD, Caerphilly Borough Council

​Dr M James, Senior Lecturer, Cardiff School of Management (academic staff)

Mr G Davies, Chair of the Welsh Rugby Union Board

xternal Co-opted Members of the Audit Committee 

Mr A Piper, Former Bank of England Agent in Wales

Ms L Winstone, Head of Internal Audit, Office of National Statistics

Secretary & Clerk to the Governors / Ysgrifennydd a Chlerc i'r Llywodraethwyr​

Mr R Walters

Western Avenue, Cardiff CF5 2YB

Telephone: 029 2041 6072


​​Minutes - Academic Year 2010-2011

Minutes - Academic Year 2011-2012

Minutes - Academic Year 2012-2013

Minutes - Academic Year 2013-2014​

Minutes - Academic Year 2014-2015​

Minutes - Academic Year 2015-2016​

Minutes - Academic Year 2016-2017

Minutes - Academic Year 2017-2018