Home>Cardiff Met News>Cardiff Met Swimmers Best Ever BUCS Ranking

Cardiff Met Swimmers’ Best Ever BUCS Ranking



Cardiff Met’s swim team is celebrating its most successful team championships after being crowned best university swim team in Wales.

The 24 swimmers, competing in two teams, made a big splash at this weekend’s BUCS team championships.

Team A, competing in the top university swimming division, were drawn up against the likes of Loughborough, Bath and Stirling; all of which comprised of past and present Olympic and international athletes.

In highly competitive races, Team A came 8th overall with an unofficial points total of 102 - double the amount of points gained by the team last year. Furthermore, it cemented the team’s position as the best swimming university team in Wales.  

Stand out performances included Ashleigh Backhouse in the 100m Butterfly (01:03.42) claiming a 3rd place position, as well as Keely Empson’s 4th place in the 100m Backstroke (1:03.30) and 50m Backstroke (30.06).

On the day, Team B produced eight top three finishes and overall ended up earning a bronze medal.

Due to Team B’s impressive performances in the qualifiers earlier in the year, the team has already been promoted to division 2 for next year’s competition.

Top swims of the day included personal best performances for Sophie Roberts in the 50m Freestyle (27.74), Alex Martin in the 100m Freestyle (54.43) and Kate Grindley in the 100m Breaststroke (1:16.77) - all of whom finished second in their respective races.

Cardiff Met Swim Team’s Assistant Head Coach, Seth Davies said: “It’s absolutely fantastic knowing that we are now the top ranked university swim team in Wales.​“Both results show the fantastic progression the team has made over the last five years which is all thanks to the hard work and determination of the swimmers, captains and coaches.  

With the possible return of current Olympian Ieuan Lloyd in September, as well as the inclusion of a third team next year, Cardiff Met Swimming can only continue to progress and improve.”

Team A: Ashleigh Backhouse, Oli Coe, Dave Colley, Matt Edwards, Keely Empson, Inez Griffin, Meri Lynn, Joe Parker, Megan Tinsdale.

Team B: Ben Anders, Charlotte Constatine, Pete Bodimeade, Tom Edwards, Ria Evans, Hannah Gamble, Kate Grindley, Chris Harris, Ella Hiller, Ross Hoskings, Alex Martin, Sophie Roberts, Chris Sandom, Hollie Thomas,  Sophie Warden.

Coaches: Seth Davies, Dan Davies, Dave Tonge.