Home>Cardiff Met News>Cardiff Met students represent a third of Wales’ Commonwealth Athletics squad

Cardiff Met students represent a third of Wales’ Commonwealth Athletics squad



Aled Davies, Team Wales captain alongside Cardiff Met students

​Cardiff Metropolitan University students make up a third of Wales' Athletics squad who left their training camp at Cardiff Met's National Indoor Athletics Centre a week ago to head to Glasgow's Commonwealth Games.

The squad, which includes current Cardiff Met student and 400m hurdler Mica Moore as well as nine other former Cardiff Met students, has been training at the first class facilities before their assault on the contest.

Cardiff Met alumni Aled Davies – named as Team Wales captain - will also compete in the F42 Discus; Dai Greene in the 400m Hurdles; Brett Morse in Discus; Adam Bitchell in 10,000m; Lee Doran in Javelin; Chris Gowell in 1500m; Curtis Matthews in Decathlon; Ryan Spencer-Jones in Shot Put and Joe Thomas in 800m.

Nine of the 12 players in Wales' Netball squad are Cardiff Met students and former students, including Suzy Drane; Cara Lea Moseley; Bethan Dyke; Nic James; Kyra Jones; Kelly Morgan; Ursula 'Billy' Pritchard; Steph Myddelton and Nia Jones.

Alumni Liam Brignull; Jo Westwood; Katrin Budd and Ria Male will play hockey at the games and Lee Williams has been selected to represent Wales in rugby 7s while Dan Bibby will represent England at Rugby 7s.

Nicolas Strange represents Wales at Badminton; Craig Ewers at Judo; Peter Creed at Squash; Ryan Jenkins at Table Tennis; Michaela Alicia Breeze at weightlifting and Ieuan Lloyd in Aquatics.

Dave Cobner, Director of Cardiff Met Sport, said: "We take great pride in the achievements of our current and former students and staff in the sporting arenas of the world, not only as performers, but also as coaches, managers and support staff.

"The 2014 cohort will be our largest since the Manchester Commonwealth Games and I would like to wish them ever success in Glasgow. I look forward to celebrating with them on their return."

Other support staff at the Games, incorporating games officials, coaches and medical staff include Scott Simpson; James Williams; Laura Williams; Julia Longville; Danny Newcombe; Chris Fry; Ben Eaton; Abigail Welsford; Louise Robiati; Dave Pugh; Karen Jones; Mark Ridgewell; Hamish Reid; Nikki MacLaughlin; Katy Guy; Catherine Knight; Laura Chimimba; Catriona Hopkins; Charlie Chacksfield; Alistair Stanning; Lucy Holmes; Claire Knowles; Christian Lambert; Rhys Shorney; Sian Vaughan-Evans; John McNarry; Joanne Coombs and David Norman Lease. They will take on a variety of roles.