Home>Cardiff Met News>Local leader helps celebrate 10 years of Leading Wales Awards

Local leader helps celebrate 10 years of Leading Wales Awards


​Dr Ian Mitchell, Senior Lecturer at the Cardiff School of Sport has been named a finalist in Wales' independent leadership awards.

The Leading Wales Awards, in association with Cardiff Metropolitan University, seek to recognise and celebrate the contribution of leaders and leadership as a key driver of economic growth and success in Wales.

Ian has been nominated in the Leadership in the Public Sector category for his leadership role within coach education and player development at the Welsh Football Trust and Football Association of Wales and is one of four finalists in the category.

Barbara Chidgey, Chair of the Leading Wales Awards, said; "It is a real achievement for individuals to get to this stage, and we congratulate each one of our 24 finalists. This is a particularly special year for us as we, ourselves, celebrate ten years of "celebrating leaders in Wales". Once again we have reached out across the country and have brought together as category finalists a diverse range of individuals whose leadership really is making a difference whether in business or in social enterprise, or in the public or voluntary sectors in Wales."

Ian who is currently a Senior Lecturer in Sport Psychology commented, "I was delighted to be nominated for this award although surprised to be named a finalist amongst so many esteemed individuals. My role with both the Welsh Football Trust and the Football Association of Wales has grown for over a decade, working with people who are receptive to change and willing to be challenged. It's an exciting time for Welsh football and the vision for Wales to become a more successful nation across all levels is one that I want to continue to be part of."

The winners will be announced at the celebratory lunch and ceremony, which will take place at the Hilton, Cardiff on Thursday 5th June 2014.

Past winners include Laura Tenison MBE, managing director of Jo Jo Maman Bebe and Mark Mathias, Chief Superintendent of South Wales Police with honorary awards being made to other famous Welsh leaders including past First Minister, Rhodri Morgan and Wales rugby captain, Sam Warburton.

For more information please visit http://www.leadingwalesawards.co.uk/