Home>Cardiff Met News>Principal Fellowship Recognition for Cardiff Mets Dean of Learning and Teaching

Principal Fellowship Recognition for Cardiff Met’s Dean of Learning and Teaching



Claire Morgan has become a Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Principal Fellowships are awarded to those with an established academic career in higher education who demonstrate leadership, and evidence of sustained and effective impact at a strategic level in relation to learning and teaching, and wider commitment to excellence in academic practice.

In August 2015, Claire took on the role of Dean for Learning and Teaching, and is responsible for providing strategic leadership for learning, teaching and assessment across the University, and for the delivery of high quality and effective services through the Learning and Teaching Development Unit (LTDU).  

She joined Cardiff Met from Cardiff University, where she held the post of College Associate Dean, leading, supporting and enhancing education provision across eight academic schools in the College of Biomedical and Life Sciences, and also Associate Dean of Cardiff Business School.

Claire also works for the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) as an academic Higher Education Reviewer, is an non-exec member of Qualification Wales Board, and has recently taken on the role of Chair of WISE Wales Steering Group for student engagement.

Claire said: "I am delighted to receive this recognition and to become Cardiff Met's fourth HEA Principal Fellow.  As someone who has built an academic and management career via the teaching and scholarship route, it is a delight to be recognised for the impact of the work that I have undertaken.

"This award has highlighted the many initiatives that I have launched and managed and which have had significant improvements on the experiences of students."

Cardiff Met has also has great success in its submissions to the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS). The University's own internal processes for NTFS ensure early talent identification and mentoring. Since the scheme was extended to Welsh Higher Education Institutions in 2011, eight members of staff have been recognised and rewarded for their teaching excellence; the highest number held by a Welsh HEI.