Home>Cardiff Met News>Young athletes celebrated at Cardiff Archers awards ceremony

Young athletes celebrated at Cardiff Archers awards ceremony



​The recent success of the Cardiff Archers Athletics Club was celebrated at an awards ceremony at the University this weekend.

Former 400m World Champion and Olympic medallist Jamie Baulch presented the awards, which saw more than 20 trophies' given to some of the club's most promising young athletes.

More than 150 children and parents attended the event, which celebrated the success of its members aged eight and above.

The Cardiff Archers have gone from strength to strength in recent times, placing 2nd in the Welsh Junior League Cup Final behind Swansea Harriers AC, and gaining promotion in the National Youth Development league for a second year running.

The club athletes have also won multiple individual awards including eight Golds at the Welsh Indoor Championships and five Golds at the Welsh Outdoor Championships as well as multiple team medals for Cross Country.

Awards during the evening were given to several individuals to celebrate the club's recent success in cross country and track and field, while special awards were also given to four particularly outstanding performers.

Sports Woman of the year was awarded to Jennifer Sani, Hani Radman and Ben Paris shared the award for Sports Man of the Year, while Theo Cabango won the Lyons Combined Events Award for success in both track and field.

Sports Facilities Manager at the National Indoor Athletics Centre, Owen Rodgers said: "We wanted to host an event to thank these fantastic young athletes for all of their hard work.

"There have been some outstanding results this season and we are confident that many of these youngsters will have long and successful careers in athletics."

Established in 2012, the Cardiff Archers Athletics Club now has more than 600 athletes training each week aged 5+, with over 250 competitive members, aged nine and above and is based at National Indoor Athletics Centre at Cardiff Metropolitan University.