About Us



​The Cardiff South Wales MCCU (Crimson Caps) was formed by three universities: Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff University and the University of South Wales.

The MCC Universities, which each receive funding each year from the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club), are aimed at male

​​and female students with potential to play first class cricket and female students who have played to senior county level.  The aim of the MCCU is to give talented young cricketers the chance to receive top-level coaching and playing opportunities whilst furthering their education.​​​​​


Based in and around the capital city of Wales, there are excellent transport links between the three partner institutions.

The Cardiff South Wales MCCU plays home matches at grounds used by Glamorgan County Cricket Club, including Sophia Gardens.

Cardiff Met is the focal point for the Centre's day to day operations with training also taking place at Cardiff University and the Glamorgan CCC indoor cricket school based at the SWALEC stadium.

Cardiff South Wales MCCU are the current title holders for the 2015 league championship.

Contact MDOleary@cardiffmet.ac.uk for further information.

Since inception of the Cardiff South Wales MCCU some of the players that have gained professional contracts and played first class cricket include:

Aaron  Nijjar (Essex CCC)

Kieran Bull (Glamorgan CCC)

Jake Libby (Nottinghamshire CCC)

Matthew Hobdon (Sussex CCC)

Fabian Cowdrey (Kent CCC)

Andrew Salter (Glamorgan CCC)

Heather Knight (England)

Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex CCC & Ireland)