Cardiff Met Sport>Student Sport>Cardiff South Wales MCCU

Cardiff South Wales MCCU

​​​Cardiff South Wales MCCU Display Banner

Welcome to the Cardiff South Wales MCCU website - Home of the Crimson Caps! ​​

The Cardiff South Wales MCCU was formed by three universities: Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff University, and the University of South Wales.

The MCC Universities, which each receive funding each year from the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club), are aimed at male students with potential to play first class cricket and female students who have played to senior county level. The aim of the MCCU is to give talented young cricketers the chance to receive top-level coaching and playing opportunities whilst furthering their education.​

 Cardiff Metropolitan University Home Page​  University of South Wales Home Page

​Based in and around the capital city of Wales, there are excellent transport links between the three partner institutions.

The Cardiff South Wales MCCU plays home matches at grounds used by Glamorgan County Cricket Club, including Sophia Gardens.

Cardiff Met is the focal point for the Centre's day to day operations with training also taking place at Cardiff University and the Glamorgan CCC indoor cricket school based at the SWALEC stadium.

Contact for further information.

How to Apply

You can apply to become a member of the Cardiff South Wales MCCU squad by emailing your C.V. to Mark O'Leary (Head Coach).


Alternatively, click here to complete an online application form from the MCC universities website.

Professional Graduates

Since inception of the Cardiff South Wales MCCU, players that have gained professional contracts and played first class cricket include:

  • Aaron Nijjar (Essex CCC)

  • Kieran Bull (Glamorgan CCC)

  • Jake Libby (Nottinghamshire CCC)

  • Matthew Hobdon (Sussex CCC)

  • Fabian Cowdrey (Kent CCC)

  • Andrew Salter (Glamorgan CCC)

  • Heather Knight (England)

  • Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex CCC & Ireland)